Videos by Wright & Van ’t Hoog

Wright and Van ’t Hoog explore the orchestration of short video sequences to form an abstract time based composition.

Wright and Van ’t Hoog, Zip 1, 2, 3, 2016–2018

With music composed and conducted by Philip Mead, and performed by the St. Augustine’s Singers in St. Augustine’s Church, Cambridge, on March 17, 2018.

Wright & Van ’t Hoog, Orpheus Trio

Orpheus Trio was created from short video clips of every day phenomena orchestrated to create a concrete art animation, which was projected onto a sculptural planar structure called Dazzle. Philip Mead generated Six Iterations, an intense set of piano improvisations based on the video. He played them at the Centrum Beeldende Kunst, Emmen, during the opening of the exhibition Dazzle on April 13, 2014.

Wright & Van ‘t Hoog, Reflections, 2007

Lifting video observations from their context and composing them in both harmonic and incongruous juxtaposition asks the viewer to look more closely at the incidental visual poetry held in daily phenomena. The cropping, framing and timing of the video sequence generates a ‘concrete art’ animation.

Wright & Van ‘t Hoog, Rodin Museum, 2005

This work draws attention to the multiple spaces created by the mirrors and reflective surfaces of cabinets, the migration of the camera and the spectators in the Musée Rodin, Paris. The work progresses towards an increasing darkness and sense of interiority, seeking to move the viewer from a documentary reading towards a more imaginative interpretation. The music is by Vivaldi.